DFA endorses the four original members of The Squad for reelection in 2022

(Vermont) -- Ahead of the 2022 election cycle, Democracy for America (DFA) endorses Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Ayanna Pressley (MA-7), Ilhan Omar (MN-5), and Rashida Tlaib (MI-13) for reelection. The squad, as they have been dubbed, continue to press for progressive reforms for Americans and lean on the Biden administration to deliver.

All members of the Squad handily won re-election in 2020 and DFA continues to be the tip of the spear in endorsing progressive candidates who run, fight and lead with a people-powered agenda. DFA backed all four members of Congress in their competitive 2018 primaries and again in their 2020 reelection campaigns. These are DFA’s first reelection endorsements of the 2022 cycle. 

“Now, more than ever, we need bold, unapologetic political leadership like members of the Squad in Congress,” said Yvette Simpson, CEO. “In the first six months of the Biden administration, we’ve seen the Squad fight back against complacency and continue to center progressive narratives on key issues voters care most about. Most importantly, though, we’ve seen them challenge the notion that the bipartisanship and unity that the Biden presidency campaigned on has to come at the expense of real change for those that have waited for it. 

“We know that if the Democrats are going to expand their majority in Congress next year, it won’t be because we played it safe; it’ll be because we elected more progressives, and championed the kind of bold, people-powered policies that the Squad champions,” she said.

“These members continue to be some of the most steadfast, bold, and unapologetic voices in Congress and it’s clear that we need them to remain in Washington.”

DFA has more than 19,036 members spread across their four congressional districts, and more than a million members nationwide.

Support Progressives!

Democracy for America supporters like you are mobilizing to support progressive candidates and policies -- and defeat Republicans in elections cross the country. Are you in?